Current Board of Directors

As clearly specified in Act 771, which established the National Information Technology Agency, the governing body of the Agency is a Board of Directors appointed by the President of the Republic of Ghana in accordance with article 70 of the 1992 Constitution. The Board is supposed to ensure that the functions of the Agency are performed properly and effectively.

The Act clearly outlines the composition of the Board as consisting of:
the chairperson,
the Director-General appointed under section 16 of Act 771,
one representative of the National Security Council
one person with experience and expertise in information communication technology issues,
three other persons with knowledge and expertise in electronic engineering, law, economics, business or public administration and at least one of whom is a woman
one representative of the Ministry of Communications not below the rank of a director, and
one representative from the Information and Communication Technology industry.

Except the Director-General, members of the Board shall hold office for a period of not more than three years, but can be re-appointed although not after serving for two terms.